Home > movie, movie review, T4, Terminator Salvation movie review > Movie Review: Terminator Salvation

Movie Review: Terminator Salvation

Movie review: Terminator Salvation (2009)

Sacrifice lunch hour to book tickets.
Build up hype to watch it FDFS.
Spend evening trying to sleep.
Make the mistake of turning on the television!
Catch “Pirates of Caribbean” and “Take the lead” on TV.
Lose sleep.
Catch the movie at 12:01 am. FDFS!
Come back disappointed.

The 1st half of the movie is spent in building up the premise of the story. The 2nd half is where all the action is.

The scenes in the movie will remind you of –
1. Black Hawk Down
2. Matrix
3. Matrix:Reloaded
4. Mad Max – Road warrior
5. Crank 2
6. Death Race
7. T2
8. I am Legend
9. Doomsday
10. T3
11. Dark Knight

T4 is a mish-mash of all these movies with some original “spice” thrown into it. The mix does not work for these reasons.
1. I have seen all these movies – just this year. I did not want a refresher course!
2. In this month alone, there were 3 other movies released – “X-Men Origins: Wolverine“, “Star Trek“, “Angels & Demons” – All were better than T4, even Wolverine, and I did not like wolverine that much!
3. I have not even watched “Angels & Demons” yet
4. I thought T3 was a bad movie
5. The music in some places felt like it was from a Hindi movie (Zanjeer is the one that came to mind)
6. Unlike Star Trek, no one clapped in joy when the movie ended (Star trek still got claps 3 weeks after its release!)

The movie evoked the similar feelings as watching Matrix Reloaded. The action was good, but the story was weak. It felt like this movie should have been an “in-between” movie. Like Matrix Reloaded, its too weak to stand on its own. And since Matrix reloaded was released years ago, this one was highly unoriginal even in its action. Come on man! Its a T4 movie. Try to show something original.

Seems like to me, the movie was made to cater to video game fans! Did someone in marketing forget, the movie has to be a hit for the other franchise to be successful? The plot is full of gaping loopholes! The action is barely passable. This one fits in the category of movies where all the cool scenes are already shown in the trailer.

The 1st half stands on a rating of 5/10. The second half stands at 6/10. This brings the avg rating to 5.5/10.
Disappointing for any movie.
For a T4 movie, that’s very disappointing! Especially when you stay up in the middle of the work week to watch it. I know, you will still want to watch it and judge for yourself. Be my guest. I’ll wait for you at the “frustrated fan party” right here! remember, there are no refunds! You are warned. No salvation in this movie!

Some of the trailers look good – Eagerly awaited movies are – Surrogates (Bruce Willis), Sherlock Holmes (Robert Downey Jr., Jude Law (i think)) {One has to find solace in something, right? We all live on hope after all!}

  1. August 14, 2010 at 12:11

    The film didn’t have the heart, nor the story or excitement that the original’s did. I just wished they did more, instead of just being a typical sci-fi action thriller. Check out my review when you can!

  2. June 7, 2010 at 19:43

    Cool blog! Check it out my movie blog at themoviebros.wordpress.com/

  3. eye-in-sty-in
    June 14, 2009 at 02:39

    yep… i hopes and i expected – but the thing fell short of my expectations and crushed any hope! But i still hope …. I hope they stop making anymore of the T-series!

  4. lafemmereva
    June 14, 2009 at 02:30

    hope is the expectation of good things to come!

  5. william
    June 3, 2009 at 11:23

    Thanks for sharing this post I read your complete post I agree with your view that every system developed contains something unique, original and clever. Increasing your web traffic and page views
    Add, add your website in http://www.directory.itsolusenz.com/

  6. couchpapaya
    May 29, 2009 at 15:07

    oh yes, spoiler post please!!!

  7. eye-in-sty-in
    May 27, 2009 at 21:59

    lol @ speedreading – Besides the fact that I dont do it, why will I speedread on my own blog 😛
    I just did not associate Cheesy with heart… I’m soo tempted to write a spoiler post on why this movie blows! Especially after seeing 7.4 on IMDB !! Some people actually gave this pathetic movie a 10!! Unbelievable…!

  8. couchpapaya
    May 27, 2009 at 20:45

    loll @ budweiser beer factory. i have not seen mad max sooo… it was cheesy, which was why i ‘heart’ed the booers, NOT ‘hate’d them. spped reading will get ya sometime or the other 😛

  9. eye-in-sty-in
    May 26, 2009 at 04:50

    I was indeed a little generous – I rated it a bit higher coz I thought losing sleep and watching it @ mid-night might have biased my dislike of the movie. But When I went to rate it on IMDB, it already had a 1000+ votes with a rating of 10. So to balance it out, I gave it 3. And It was 7.5 on Friday! Am surprised it still is 7.5!! The studios must have dired a lot of ppl to make fake ids and rate! Even all the paid reviews were quite mellow in its bashing!

    Now that you mention it, yes, they were like WOTW. I thought the fuel tower was akin to Mad Max (Road Warrior)… And yes the Skynet tower was LAME! It looked like the Budweiser beer factory in my backyard!

    You are so right about Star trek viz a viz T4! Although i could not digest Kirk, it still was a treat to watch.

    I thougth you said sherlock holmes trailer was cheesy!

  10. couchpapaya
    May 26, 2009 at 04:04

    who is booing holmes? i heart them! guy ritchie what hast thou wrought ??

Comment pages
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

