Home > traffic > Freedom of traffic…!

Freedom of traffic…!

A town in Germany removed all traffic rules and guess what! The number of accidents plummeted from one-a-week to zilch!

Reason? Not having to look at signs and signals, people are paying more attention to the road and to other things on it! Funny, isn’t it!

The town now has two general laws in place – a speed limit of 30 MPH and yield to the right. And the Govt. saves 5,000 pounds a month in traffic sign repair bills.

I cannot imagine what will happen if this were done in Bombay or Bangalore… any guesses? πŸ˜›

Categories: traffic Tags:
  1. eye-in-sty-in
    June 23, 2009 at 18:29

    lol….. some rules are needed no…!

  2. Varun
    June 23, 2009 at 15:10

    I didn't like one rule there!

    The speed limit πŸ˜€

  3. eye-in-sty-in
    June 21, 2009 at 08:04

    why… thank you very much! Its never been called that before πŸ˜‰ It does take a special something to bring out the flavour. I believe the right word is "churn" (more rambling under the pretext of it being late)

  4. floreta
    June 21, 2009 at 07:59

    lol nice metaphors on ice cream πŸ˜‰ flavor. yes your blog is icecreamgoodness!

  5. eye-in-sty-in
    June 21, 2009 at 07:14

    I have an icecream bowl on my blog… on the RHS (right hand side) … does that count… (its late here too :P) … err.. wont they take the small bowl with (apparently) more ice cream?

    welcome to my blog… do come back for seconds if u dig the flavour…

  6. floreta
    June 21, 2009 at 07:08

    very interesting psychology! it's along the same lines of fill a big bowl with ice cream (and less amount of it) and fill a little bowl with more ice cream and people seem to take the big bowl. ok maybe that's not related but it seemed to make sense in my head. it's late.

  7. eye-in-sty-in
    June 19, 2009 at 23:25

    naa… I read it then and I also remembered it because I knew how excited you were about getting it… I may have even commented that "it was not meant to be" or something to that effect.

    Do u know why? coz I likes u too πŸ™‚

    aur haan… aap ki rehem-dili dekh ke meri aankhon mein aasu nahi aaye par mera dil zaroor khush huaa …. aur main bhi thodaa bahot khush huaa πŸ˜›

  8. Zeba Talkhani
    June 19, 2009 at 18:06

    I bet you gave it a quick read before replying!! How will I have a Vaio if it is out of stock???

    But I likes you, so will be nice. Aap bhi kya yaad karoge, maaf kiya!! Haha.

    • sasifasimran
      January 7, 2011 at 22:15

      hahah… Bangalore is much differnt from Germany !

      huh….it would be even more patatic to imagine such a thing happening… all beggers sitting at road side would get killed merceyless and peditrains would prefer
      an auto to cross roads,

      Rgds
      sasifasimran

  9. eye-in-sty-in
    June 19, 2009 at 13:29

    I did Zebra, you mean the one where you went to the shop and the vaio was the last piece and it was a store display model and you didn't take it? Yes, I read that one πŸ™‚

  10. Zeba Talkhani
    June 19, 2009 at 06:29

    This just proves (I knew it, I knew it, I knew it) that you didn't read that whole post or the post after that!

  11. eye-in-sty-in
    June 19, 2009 at 03:36

    Hi Zebra,
    Teasing you? Wait till you get hold of the Vaio? Dont you have it already? You sent me a config, remember! Did you get lost on the way to the store due to lack of GPS?

    Hi Sand-piper!
    *shaking head from side to side… very disappointed!*

    Hi AV,
    Precisely why it should happen! Save the tax payer some dough!

    Hi AD,
    poor you… Aren't you glad you were not driving an electric car!!

  12. eye-in-sty-in
    June 19, 2009 at 03:33

    Hi Anu,
    Next time someone will try to hit ur vehicle while driving, make use of the puppy-dog eyes and flash them a smile – they will crash into someone else πŸ˜›
    Is Bangalore really that bad traffic wise?

    Hi Ava,
    Yep – they are very careful as they try to find a gap in the junction to squeeze thru it… However, what I was getting at is – to make this a permanent fixture. A signal broken like one day is like a portal open for a short time – people try to rush in. But if the portal is open forever, then the rush may not be necessary.

    Hi Ripples,
    Your id is very corny as it reminds me of the KS ads!

    Hi UH,
    That should be money making time for the Train company then πŸ™‚

  13. AD
    June 18, 2009 at 18:24

    well we experienced it as soon as i said it!

    15+ hours of no electricity and life fell off track on the road!

  14. AV
    June 18, 2009 at 17:57

    well, d govt contractors and the ruling party and the traffic-police dept, all of them will lose their share of black money!! so i m sure they would never allow such a thing to happen!! πŸ˜›

  15. PurpleHeart
    June 18, 2009 at 14:00

    πŸ™‚ Of course I do know. I did miss him may be because like you guessed, I am not a F1 fan..:)

  16. Zeba Talkhani
    June 18, 2009 at 12:53

    Dont 'Oye Zebra' me. you wait till i get hold of the Vaio. i know u teasing me. i know. I KNOW!!!!!!!!

    * Wondering if her would be laptop actually has GPS. It better

  17. udtahaathi
    June 18, 2009 at 10:35

    If all traffic rules are removed from Mumbai, the real estate price will reach rock bottom as people would have to stay in their car only for days.
    *shiver me timbers*

Comment pages
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

