Home > batata vada, rains, six pack, traffic > The Journeys: Part deux

The Journeys: Part deux

Day one had me reporting to office. As I was not familiar with the parking situation, I decided to take the bike. Now I’ll be the first one to tell you that I don’t particularly like 2 wheels! I know, the girls find it macho n sexy, but some things are just not meant to be. Period! Dad offered to drive me half way after which I would ride the rest of the distance and pick him up on the way back. Since he would be driving the traffic laden half, I mustered enough courage to take the 2 wheeled bike the rest of the way.
Now, for those who are not familiar with the Indian traffic conditions, should see this sped up video of a traffic intersection. The traffic situation in Bombay is about half as bad… couple this with the no-so-friendly-bike and my disdain of 2-wheelers, its not the best mix.
The drive started well and I was doing great. Then I had to brake and all hell broke loose.
As soon as I hit the brakes, the 2-wheeler engine turned off. I managed to turn it back on and was on my way again and I had to brake once more… this was not going well!
After stalling it 3 more times, I called dad who proudly exclaimed “the idling of the engine is set low to conserve fuel at traffic lights ***. Just give it some gas while braking and u should be fine.”
Me: (thinking) Give it gas while braking? That would get me killed????
*** (we live in a city and traffic lights are a-plenty)
I parked the 2-wheeler in the nearest by-lane, proudly shamelessly hopped into a running double decker bus and was on my merry way πŸ˜› City biking is not for me! At least not now! (for the curious cats, the 2-wheeler in question was a Honda Activa. Its a moped! not even geared…. I too know its pathetic!) πŸ˜€
In my defense, I did take ride the cursed thing to visit an uncle after work and also picked up my dad on my way back.
And then it rained! Continuously for 24 hours! Sometimes heavy, sometimes a light drizzle..

.
perfect time to grab hot vadas with red-chilly-garlic-chutney! No sooner did I mouth
the words to my sis, mom interjected “I’ve already made them!” I kid you not, she can read minds!
Me: (while hogging on tasty hot vadas [an Indian delicacy savoured during the rains]) Mom, stop making all this oily food… you are making me fat. I had a 6-pack and its disappearing
Mom: I don’t like 6-packs. Shah Rukh (an Indian actor) got one and it made him look old. His cheeks are sunk in his face and his skin has become all flabby.
Me: (cannot argue with that logic!)

  1. eye-in-sty-in
    July 26, 2009 at 10:58

    You think I'm bluffing and will pass a change to meet Booms? Drop me an email when u guys r in town and i'll be glad to treat you!

    I know what a 'lousy line" is. I was asking where did I write one? Do refresh me memory if u remember it.

  2. Ann Dee
    July 26, 2009 at 10:10

    If you wnt to dodge that impending ache send me your address so that D, B and me can come over in the eve for a vada-pao treat. πŸ˜‰

    PS: Lousy line=One of those you write fr the heck of it.

  3. eye-in-sty-in
    July 26, 2009 at 09:59

    aha! so u like vada-pav too… there r lots in bombay… do stop by for a vada-pav treat! I was away on a trip and didnt have internet there. Err… what lousy line??

  4. Ann Dee
    July 26, 2009 at 09:55

    1. I'm not commenting coz you commented [tht lousy line you dropped didn't deserve a comment-back]

    2. Didn't notice the "part duex" and thought I'd drop & say kuch blog-shlog karo

    3. You shouldn't have put that vada pao pic. You might get a stomach ache tonight. Bad one. πŸ˜›

  5. eye-in-sty-in
    July 26, 2009 at 06:41

    Hi Ekta,
    Just wait a few n u'll be sketched πŸ˜›

    Hi Lynn,
    Been cut off from the world (Is it safe to use the word "cut-off" when someone mentions UGATZ in the same conversation???) Will post soon.

    Hi Aparna,
    Had been away from civilization.. had to drive 5 Miles (8 kms) to get cell phone service πŸ˜€ New post soon…. and will also read all latest postings….

  6. Aparna
    July 25, 2009 at 14:26

    What happened? Padhna likhna chchod diya kya?

Comment pages
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

